Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for the ‘Covers’ Category

The fantastic folks at YA Books Central have revealed the cover art for Kate Marshall’s debut YA survival thriller, I Am Still Alive. It’s a tense, moving tale of a girl alone in the wilderness, armed with only her wits and her dog to survive the winter.  YA Books Central is also giving away a SIGNED advanced reader copy (US/CA), which ends on December 15. Be sure to head over there, read a short note from the Kate, and enter the giveaway!

Kate also talks about her inspiration for writing I Am Still Alive at the Penguin Teen blog. If you love behind-the-scenes and making-of content, you won’t want to miss this one!

After
Jess is alone. Her cabin has burned to the ground. She knows if she doesn’t act fast, the cold will kill her before she has time to worry about food. But she is still alive—for now.

Before
Jess hadn’t seen her survivalist, off-the-grid dad in over a decade. But after a car crash killed her mother and left her injured, she was forced to move to his cabin in the remote Canadian wilderness. Just as Jess was beginning to get to know him, a secret from his past paid them a visit, leaving her father dead and Jess stranded.

After
With only her father’s dog for company, Jess must forage and hunt for food, build shelter, and keep herself warm. Some days it feels like the wild is out to destroy her, but she’s stronger than she ever imagined.

Jess will survive. She has to. She knows who killed her father…and she wants revenge.

Preorder at Amazon, B&N, or your local bookshop via Indiebound.
Hardcover publication July 24th, 2018, from Viking Children’s.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Several exciting things happened this summer (and they say publishing is slow in the summer, ha!) in book-land: three books by two different clients published, and one client had a cover reveal/excerpt appear on the B&N SFF Blog!

Gentlemans Guide to ScandalFirstly, three books published!

Kathleen Kimmel’s second novel in her Birch Hall romance series, A Gentleman’s Guide to Scandal, published in June. As is common for romance sequels two supporting characters from Kimmel’s debut, A Lady’s Guide to Ruinget to star in a story of their very own! Gentleman’s Guide is Elinor Hargrove and Colin Spenser’s story, and has been called “Great fun from start to finish” (Kirkus), “a delightful, fresh voice in the genre” (Romantic Times in a 4-star review), along with “sizzling chemistry” and “a fearless heroine” (Publishers Weekly). For those who love second chances or enemies*-to-lovers tropes, be sure to take a look!

*more like bickering-to-lovers, but close enough!

K. Eason had not one, but two books publish this summer: her debut fantasy Enemy in June, and its sequel Outlaw in July. These are epic fantasy, in the vein of Kameron Hurley and N. K. Jemisin: dark but not too bleak, playing with gender roles, complete with complex magic systems and multi-layered politics, as well as a whole lot of action. It takes two of my favorite fantasy character types (assassins and outsiders/loners) and does so much with them. The female protagonist (Snowdenaelikk) is a half-breed assassin, which means she gets dumped on by almost every societal class, but she excels at what she does regardless. The male protagonist (Veiko) is outlawed from his (Scandinavian-esque) tribe for doing the wrong thing for the right reason. He and Snow make an unlikely partnership, pulls it all together flawlessly.

outlaw mediumEnemy skyrocketed to the #1 slot in multiple Amazon Kindle categories, including sword & sorcery and dark fantasy, and stayed in the top 100 in the Kindle store for just over a month. With hundreds of 4- and 5-star reviews at Goodreads and Amazon, it’s easy to see why readers have taken to Eason’s work so quickly.

Secondly, cover art!

The B&N SFF Blog had the honor of presenting the fantastic cover of K. C. Alexander’s “nanopunk” thriller, Necrotech! They also have an excerpt up, so go check it out in advance of its September publication date. The many amazing quotes K. C. has already received from SFF powerhouse authors makes it difficult to add anything new, so suffice it to say, Necrotech is a really fun, fast-paced read with a really kick-ass, take-no-prisoners heroine.

Necrotech

Read Full Post »