Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘cyberpunk’

Several exciting things happened this summer (and they say publishing is slow in the summer, ha!) in book-land: three books by two different clients published, and one client had a cover reveal/excerpt appear on the B&N SFF Blog!

Gentlemans Guide to ScandalFirstly, three books published!

Kathleen Kimmel’s second novel in her Birch Hall romance series, A Gentleman’s Guide to Scandal, published in June. As is common for romance sequels two supporting characters from Kimmel’s debut, A Lady’s Guide to Ruinget to star in a story of their very own! Gentleman’s Guide is Elinor Hargrove and Colin Spenser’s story, and has been called “Great fun from start to finish” (Kirkus), “a delightful, fresh voice in the genre” (Romantic Times in a 4-star review), along with “sizzling chemistry” and “a fearless heroine” (Publishers Weekly). For those who love second chances or enemies*-to-lovers tropes, be sure to take a look!

*more like bickering-to-lovers, but close enough!

K. Eason had not one, but two books publish this summer: her debut fantasy Enemy in June, and its sequel Outlaw in July. These are epic fantasy, in the vein of Kameron Hurley and N. K. Jemisin: dark but not too bleak, playing with gender roles, complete with complex magic systems and multi-layered politics, as well as a whole lot of action. It takes two of my favorite fantasy character types (assassins and outsiders/loners) and does so much with them. The female protagonist (Snowdenaelikk) is a half-breed assassin, which means she gets dumped on by almost every societal class, but she excels at what she does regardless. The male protagonist (Veiko) is outlawed from his (Scandinavian-esque) tribe for doing the wrong thing for the right reason. He and Snow make an unlikely partnership, pulls it all together flawlessly.

outlaw mediumEnemy skyrocketed to the #1 slot in multiple Amazon Kindle categories, including sword & sorcery and dark fantasy, and stayed in the top 100 in the Kindle store for just over a month. With hundreds of 4- and 5-star reviews at Goodreads and Amazon, it’s easy to see why readers have taken to Eason’s work so quickly.

Secondly, cover art!

The B&N SFF Blog had the honor of presenting the fantastic cover of K. C. Alexander’s “nanopunk” thriller, Necrotech! They also have an excerpt up, so go check it out in advance of its September publication date. The many amazing quotes K. C. has already received from SFF powerhouse authors makes it difficult to add anything new, so suffice it to say, Necrotech is a really fun, fast-paced read with a really kick-ass, take-no-prisoners heroine.

Necrotech

Advertisements

Read Full Post »