Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Regency romance’

Several exciting things happened this summer (and they say publishing is slow in the summer, ha!) in book-land: three books by two different clients published, and one client had a cover reveal/excerpt appear on the B&N SFF Blog!

Gentlemans Guide to ScandalFirstly, three books published!

Kathleen Kimmel’s second novel in her Birch Hall romance series, A Gentleman’s Guide to Scandal, published in June. As is common for romance sequels two supporting characters from Kimmel’s debut, A Lady’s Guide to Ruinget to star in a story of their very own! Gentleman’s Guide is Elinor Hargrove and Colin Spenser’s story, and has been called “Great fun from start to finish” (Kirkus), “a delightful, fresh voice in the genre” (Romantic Times in a 4-star review), along with “sizzling chemistry” and “a fearless heroine” (Publishers Weekly). For those who love second chances or enemies*-to-lovers tropes, be sure to take a look!

*more like bickering-to-lovers, but close enough!

K. Eason had not one, but two books publish this summer: her debut fantasy Enemy in June, and its sequel Outlaw in July. These are epic fantasy, in the vein of Kameron Hurley and N. K. Jemisin: dark but not too bleak, playing with gender roles, complete with complex magic systems and multi-layered politics, as well as a whole lot of action. It takes two of my favorite fantasy character types (assassins and outsiders/loners) and does so much with them. The female protagonist (Snowdenaelikk) is a half-breed assassin, which means she gets dumped on by almost every societal class, but she excels at what she does regardless. The male protagonist (Veiko) is outlawed from his (Scandinavian-esque) tribe for doing the wrong thing for the right reason. He and Snow make an unlikely partnership, pulls it all together flawlessly.

outlaw mediumEnemy skyrocketed to the #1 slot in multiple Amazon Kindle categories, including sword & sorcery and dark fantasy, and stayed in the top 100 in the Kindle store for just over a month. With hundreds of 4- and 5-star reviews at Goodreads and Amazon, it’s easy to see why readers have taken to Eason’s work so quickly.

Secondly, cover art!

The B&N SFF Blog had the honor of presenting the fantastic cover of K. C. Alexander’s “nanopunk” thriller, Necrotech! They also have an excerpt up, so go check it out in advance of its September publication date. The many amazing quotes K. C. has already received from SFF powerhouse authors makes it difficult to add anything new, so suffice it to say, Necrotech is a really fun, fast-paced read with a really kick-ass, take-no-prisoners heroine.

Necrotech

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Debutatens Guide to RebellionA very happy publication day to Kathleen KimmelA Debutante’s Guide to Rebellion is a companion novella to her Birch Hall Regency romance series and set chronologically before A Lady’s Guide to Ruin, the first book in the series.

While it’s populated almost entirely with new characters, fans of A Lady’s Guide to Ruin will appreciate the appearance of a few tertiary characters, including Lady Copeland and her infamous diamonds! For those who haven’t read Lady’s GuideDebutante’s Guide works perfectly as a standalone read, and there are no spoilers in either the book or the novella.

Ramblings From This Chick called A Debutante’s Guide to Rebellion “adorable” and “too cute.” Rachel McMillan, author of the Herringford and Watts series, says it’s “a gem” and “probably the best novella” she’s read. (I humbly agree; also, I’m totally not biased at all. ;) ).

A bashful botanist and a reluctant debutante are about to discover that there may be a science to seduction after all…

London, 1815: Lady Mildred Weller (Eddie to her friends) has few prospects for marriage. If she can’t attract the available—though considerably older—Lord Averdale, she may be doomed to spinsterhood. She’s even willing to enter into that loveless union, if only to escape her mother’s stifling and increasingly desperate dominance. And she may have found the perfect person to help her achieve that goal.

Ezekiel Blackwood is a botanist as well as Lord Averdale’s nephew and heir. He is also a social disaster. Cross-pollination he understands; the fairer sex not at all. But in Lady Eddie, he discovers a kindred spirit. When she asks for his assistance in assessing Lord Averdale’s interest in her, Ezekiel is crushed. But naturally, he thinks, she could never fall in love with someone like him. Ezekiel’s matchmaking cousin  is only too happy to arrange a discreet rendezvous for their conspiracy—a greenhouse. Of course in such a setting, it’s only natural that feelings might begin to bloom…

This is a sweet* Regency read for those looking for an afternoon treat. Also features two adorably awkward leads, terrible dancing, and botany! And, fun fact, there’s an excerpt for the second Birch Hall novel, A Gentleman’s Guide to Scandal, at the end!

*A Debutante’s Guide to Rebellion is clean, focusing on the courtship (and a wonderful first kiss). Kimmel’s novels are decidedly more explicit.

Read Full Post »