Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘science fiction’

Yesterday was the official publication date for ALL RIGHTS RESERVED by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. I’ve already written a little bit about this book’s history; after four years, I’m so so thrilled that Greg’s book is on bookshelves for all to read and enjoy!

In the lead-up to publication day, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED has had a number of exciting developments! It’s an ABA Indies Introduce selection for Fall/Summer 2017, an ABA Kids’ Indie Next selection for Autumn 2017, and named one of the most anticipated August 2017 YA releases by both B&N and PopCrush. Greg also made appearances at San Diego Comic Con (!!!) and Book Expo America.

Check out the amazing book trailer Greg put together!

 

Intrigued? You can also read an excerpt of ALL RIGHTS RESERVED over at The Boston Review. Because who doesn’t love sneak peeks?

I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite review quotes:

“Katsoulis paints a picture of a world that is one part 1984, one part The Hunger Games, and one part Minority Report. The subject matter couldn’t be more timely.” Geek Dad

“Though she doesn’t speak, Speth has been given a distinctive and memorable voice by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. All Rights Reserved is both deeply troubling and utterly captivating; a must read for fans of the dystopic, and more specifically of M.T. Anderson’s Feed.”—Shelf Awareness

“Between the clever premise and the protagonist’s stand against a repressive society, Katsoulis’s work is timely and will appeal to fans of Dan Wells’s Bluescreen, M.T. Anderson’s Feed, Cecelia Ahern’s Flawed, or Scott Westerfeld’s ‘Uglies.’”—School Library Journal

“A chilling, unnerving, and timely debut novel about what it means to speak out, even in silence.”—Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of The Thousandth Floor

Pick up a copy at your favorite retailer or library! :D

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

In early April 2013, I became an full-time literary agent at JABberwocky Literary Agency. In late April 2013, I received a query from an author seeking representation for his YA dystopian manuscript. According to Everyone™, dystopians were extremely hard to sell, a feeling that hasn’t changed much in the intervening three years. But the concept was fresh and unique: in a world where words and gestures have all been copyrighted and you have to pay for the privilege of speaking. After working on some revisions with the author, I was honored to sign him and his amazing manuscript.

Which brings us to now:

Sale announcement for All Rights Reserved by  Gregory Scott Katsoulis

I’m so, so excited to have found a home for both Greg and All Rights Reserved. He was one of my very first clients, All Rights Reserved is one of those stories that sticks with you long after you’ve finished, and I look forward to working with Greg on many more thought-provoking novels!

Read Full Post »

April was a very busy month for me. In addition to signing a contemporary middle grade author, I’ve also signed a great writing duo, Corry L. Lee and K. G. Jewell!

JOCASTA AND THE PURPLE GEMFIRE is a zany-yet-grounded sci-fi middle grade about the titular Jocasta and her adventures with aliens on a space station “nexus” that connects all the far-flung galaxies together. Think Stargate meets Percy Jackson, or Alice in Wonderland in space.

I particularly love how all of the characters, from Jocasta the science-minded Earth girl to Sam the rambunctious alien flying squirrel (though don’t let him hear you call him that) to more truly alien creatures, are all extremely relatable despite their extremely different backgrounds and species.

I also really appreciated that Jocasta herself has agency throughout. Sometimes she makes bad decisions (or the best of many bad options), but it’s always clear that she’s making decisions and not letting the plot push her around. And despite some heavier plot elements, JOCASTA has a lighthearted and fun tone throughout. It’s clear that Corry and K. G. had a lot of fun with this project, and it really shines through.

Corry is an SFF writer recently escaped from academia, and the 2011 winner of Writers of the Future. K. G. is a prolific short fiction writer and a 2009 Odyssey Writing Workshop graduate. They’re extremely talented writers, both together and individually, and I’m stoked to be working with them!

Read Full Post »