Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘YA’

The fantastic folks at YA Books Central have revealed the cover art for Kate Marshall’s debut YA survival thriller, I Am Still Alive. It’s a tense, moving tale of a girl alone in the wilderness, armed with only her wits and her dog to survive the winter.  YA Books Central is also giving away a SIGNED advanced reader copy (US/CA), which ends on December 15. Be sure to head over there, read a short note from the Kate, and enter the giveaway!

Kate also talks about her inspiration for writing I Am Still Alive at the Penguin Teen blog. If you love behind-the-scenes and making-of content, you won’t want to miss this one!

After
Jess is alone. Her cabin has burned to the ground. She knows if she doesn’t act fast, the cold will kill her before she has time to worry about food. But she is still alive—for now.

Before
Jess hadn’t seen her survivalist, off-the-grid dad in over a decade. But after a car crash killed her mother and left her injured, she was forced to move to his cabin in the remote Canadian wilderness. Just as Jess was beginning to get to know him, a secret from his past paid them a visit, leaving her father dead and Jess stranded.

After
With only her father’s dog for company, Jess must forage and hunt for food, build shelter, and keep herself warm. Some days it feels like the wild is out to destroy her, but she’s stronger than she ever imagined.

Jess will survive. She has to. She knows who killed her father…and she wants revenge.

Preorder at Amazon, B&N, or your local bookshop via Indiebound.
Hardcover publication July 24th, 2018, from Viking Children’s.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

Yesterday was the official publication date for ALL RIGHTS RESERVED by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. I’ve already written a little bit about this book’s history; after four years, I’m so so thrilled that Greg’s book is on bookshelves for all to read and enjoy!

In the lead-up to publication day, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED has had a number of exciting developments! It’s an ABA Indies Introduce selection for Fall/Summer 2017, an ABA Kids’ Indie Next selection for Autumn 2017, and named one of the most anticipated August 2017 YA releases by both B&N and PopCrush. Greg also made appearances at San Diego Comic Con (!!!) and Book Expo America.

Check out the amazing book trailer Greg put together!

 

Intrigued? You can also read an excerpt of ALL RIGHTS RESERVED over at The Boston Review. Because who doesn’t love sneak peeks?

I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite review quotes:

“Katsoulis paints a picture of a world that is one part 1984, one part The Hunger Games, and one part Minority Report. The subject matter couldn’t be more timely.” Geek Dad

“Though she doesn’t speak, Speth has been given a distinctive and memorable voice by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. All Rights Reserved is both deeply troubling and utterly captivating; a must read for fans of the dystopic, and more specifically of M.T. Anderson’s Feed.”—Shelf Awareness

“Between the clever premise and the protagonist’s stand against a repressive society, Katsoulis’s work is timely and will appeal to fans of Dan Wells’s Bluescreen, M.T. Anderson’s Feed, Cecelia Ahern’s Flawed, or Scott Westerfeld’s ‘Uglies.’”—School Library Journal

“A chilling, unnerving, and timely debut novel about what it means to speak out, even in silence.”—Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of The Thousandth Floor

Pick up a copy at your favorite retailer or library! :D

Read Full Post »

In early April 2013, I became an full-time literary agent at JABberwocky Literary Agency. In late April 2013, I received a query from an author seeking representation for his YA dystopian manuscript. According to Everyone™, dystopians were extremely hard to sell, a feeling that hasn’t changed much in the intervening three years. But the concept was fresh and unique: in a world where words and gestures have all been copyrighted and you have to pay for the privilege of speaking. After working on some revisions with the author, I was honored to sign him and his amazing manuscript.

Which brings us to now:

Sale announcement for All Rights Reserved by  Gregory Scott Katsoulis

I’m so, so excited to have found a home for both Greg and All Rights Reserved. He was one of my very first clients, All Rights Reserved is one of those stories that sticks with you long after you’ve finished, and I look forward to working with Greg on many more thought-provoking novels!

Read Full Post »

About a month ago, I was catching up with a friend, chatting about books (as you do). I mentioned that I’ve been rather disappointed with the young adult novels I’ve read, at which point she whipped out her phone, pulled up the photo of the blurb of Hex Hall, and told me we couldn’t be friends anymore if I didn’t like it.

I’m happy to report that she and I are still friends. Hex Hall is a quick, fun read that has understandable amounts teenage angst. The relationship-angst doesn’t take over the rest of the plot, either. It’s a nice compliment to the story.

I loved that the author included references to literary classics like Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence, Edgar Allen Poe’s “Cask of Amontillado,” as well as poking fun at the current pop culture vampire/werewolf fascination. Neither the werewolves or vampire(s) in Hex Hall are evil — they’re just people, some of whom may have made bad decisions in their lives. Hawkins also brings into focus the horrors of high school cliques and hierarchies, and how being popular or pretty doesn’t necessarily mean you’re a good person.

Read Full Post »